Skip to main content

History 490: Finding Journal Articles

Articles: a step-by-step guide

Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide

1.) Look for citations and articles

  • Gather citations with Indexes and Databases
  • Find citations in books and articles with Bibliographies

2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation

  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database

3.)  WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog  (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)

4.) Interlibrary Loan

Scholarly or Popular?

Types of Periodicals

     How do I know if it's Scholarly?

Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.

Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers

Indexes and Databases

Indexes

Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.

NOTE:  Depending on your research topic, there are other subject specific indexes and databases that may be helpful.  Consult Indexes and Databases by Subject for more possibilities. 

Historical Abstracts 

America: History and Life 

Social Sciences Abstracts  (some full-text)

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. [NOTE:  use this to find primary articles].

Readers' Guide Abstracts with Full Text (1983-present)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. [NOTE:  use this to find primary articles]

World Political Science Abstracts
WPSA
covers political science and international relations, along with international law and public administration/policy. 

 

Full-text resources

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals. How to search JSTOR

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

ProQuest Central Multidisciplinary (FT)
Can limit to scholarly academic journals

Access World News contains over 2000 international news sources, including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts. Coverage goes back five to thirty years, depending on the title.

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.

Harper's Weekly (1857-1912)

Kalamazoo Gazette Historical Full-text coverage of the weekly and daily versions of the Kalamazoo Gazette, 1837-1922.

Accessible Archives Primary Sources Primary Source materials & periodicals from the U.S. in the 18th and 19th centuries

Independent Voices Alternative Press publications

 


 

Older Popular Magazines in print in the K Library

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form