Skip to main content

ANSO 103: Introduction to Society and Culture: Journals

Literature Indexes

 Literature Indexes tell you who published what - and give you citations with the author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. 
Many articles are available in full text, but not every article.

Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

 

Sociology and Anthropology

Sociological Abstracts

Social Sciences Abstracts

Social Sciences sources from ProQuest

WorldWide Political Science Abstracts


Psychology

PsycINFO (Psychology)

PsycArticles 90+ Psychology Journals in Full Text

 

Education

ERIC Education (Educational Resource Information Center)

Education Abstracts

 

History

America: History & Life - United States & Canada from prehistory to present.

Historical Abstracts - History of the world from 1450 to present
(excludes the US & Canada, which are covered in America: History & Life)

 
Religion

ATLA Religion

Philosopher's Index

 

Statistics Sources

Statista - statistics and quantitative data on business, politics, demographics, and more


Looking for sources on Health
Please use the Health Studies Indexes & Databases page.

Looking for sources on Environmental Studies
Please use the Environmental Studies Indexes & Databases page.

Full Text Journals

Online Journals at K - Search and Find journals the K Library subscribes to online!

JSTOR 
Scholarly journals in full text.  Our library subscribes to many journals in JSTOR, but not all journal titles in JSTOR.  

Proquest Central
Fulltext database of thousands of periodicals. Search the entire database or select specific subject modules (examples: Arts, Women's Studies and Humanities). You may select to search peer-reviewed journals only.

Project Muse
Full text of Johns Hopkins University Press scholarly journals from the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

OmniFile
Records from Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts and Business Abstracts. Contains articles in html full text. Coverage: 1994-Present.

Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full text articles from journals and reference sources. Covers physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects. Articles in PDF and html full text.

Do you have access to a journal?

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) Library OneSearch (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

 Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).