Skip to main content

WGS 101: Introduction to Women,Gender&Sexuality: Finding Journal Articles

Articles: a step-by-step guide

Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide

1.) Look for citations and articles

  • Gather citations with Indexes and Databases
  • Find citations in books and articles with Bibliographies

2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation

  • Title search on Title of the Journal

3.)  WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog  (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)

4.) Interlibrary Loan

5.) Google

  •    Occasionally you can locate an open access version of an article by searching on the title of the article in Google.

Scholarly or Popular?

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Indexes and Databases

Women, Gender, & Sexuality Indexes and Databases

History and Politics

Arts, Literature, and Humanities

Economics and Business

Education

Primary Sources

  • Gerritsen Collection
    More than 4,700 publications from around the world, dating from 1543-1945 tracing the evolution of feminism.
  • Women’s Magazine Archive
    Consumer magazines for female readers from the 19th and 20th century.
  • Independent Voices
    Independent Voices chronicles the transformative decades of the 60s, 70s and 80s through the lens of an independent alternative press. Provides over 1,000 titles from the special collections of dozens of libraries.
  • Kanopy Streaming Video
    More than 15,000 streaming videos and video series, with subject matter in many areas, including Heath and Medicine, Film Studies, Global and Language Studies, The Arts, Business, Education and the Social Sciences.

 

Full-text resources

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

ProQuest Central
Multidisciplinary Can limit to scholarly academic journals

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.

New York Times (1995 to present)
Text version of the New York Times. Does not include sidebars or graphics.

PressReader 
Collection of international newspapers, covers the last 60 days

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form