Skip to main content

ANSO/SEMN 292: Development & Dispossession: Journal Articles

Literature Indexes

Indexes lead you to article citations that include:
author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. 

Social Sciences

Political Science

Economics & Business

Environmental Sciences

Agriculture

History

To find out other subject specific indexes/databases, check the Indexes by Subject list

Databases

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

Proquest Central
Can limit to scholarly academic journals

 

Do you have access to a journal?

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Database
2.) Library OneSearch (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

 Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Need help?

Contact us!

  reference@kzoo.edu

  Reference Desk: 269-337-7152