Skip to main content

History/Seminar 271: Nelson Mandela & Movement: Primary Sources

Websites


World History Sources
Links to primary sources orgainzed by region and time period. Prepared by The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University.     

African e-Journals Project A project of the Michigan State University African Studies Center, MSU Libraries, and Matrix: The Center for Humane Arts, Letters, and Social Science Online. It is co-sponsored by the Association of African Universities and the African Studies Association in the U.S.

Archive of African Journals

Truth and Reconciliation Commission Official Website 
The South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) was set up by the Government of National Unity to help deal with what happened under apartheid. The conflict during this period resulted in violence and human rights abuses from all sides.

Truth and Reconciliation Commission Video Collection (Online Viewing)
The South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission Videotape Collection features 84 episodes of news broadcasts assembled by journalist Max Du Preez, covering the history and activities of the Commission. The site features finding aids to the collection, summaries of each tape, and full-length Flash videos of each episode.

 

Digital Public Library of America 
The DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Internet Archive
Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Includes television news broadcasts and historical film clips.

Google News Archive
Search historical news archives back to about 1880. Google automatically creates a time-line with results from each decade. Contents are both free and fee-based, but check our library resources before paying for articles.

History Channel : Speeches
Contains hundreds of speeches that can be searched by speaker, subject or time period.


 


 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us
reference@kzoo.edu
Reference desk: 337-7152
Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here