Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide
1.) Look for citations and articles
2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation
- Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)
Types of Periodicals
Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)
Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)
Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).
Scholarly or Not?
Use Ulrich's Online
Document Type MUST say "Academic/Scholarly Publication" to be considered scholarly!
Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.
Scholarly academic journals
Proquest Research Library
Can limit to scholarly academic journals
Artwork Image Database NOTE: You must have registered for an Artstor an account from a computer on the Kalamazoo College campus to take advantage of off-campus access. (Click on 'Enter Artstor Digital Library' to access registration box).
New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.
Kalamazoo Gazette Historical
Full-text coverage of the weekly and daily versions of the Kalamazoo Gazette, 1837-1922.
Full text with illustrations of Harper's Weekly from 1857-1889, searchable by keywords, by literary genre, by occupations and role in society, and browseable by date.
This database provides full text access to a diverse range of primary source materials from 18th & 19th century America. The collection includes:letters, advertisements, editorials, sketches, county records, complete runs of important periodicals and much more. Titles of interest include: The Pennsylvania Gazette, the Virginia Gazette, The South Carolina Gazette, Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1845, and The North Star.
Older Popular Magazines in owned by the K Library
Links go to the magazine's record in Ariadne