Skip to main content

HIST 259-01 Technology and Modern Culture: Journal Articles

HIST 259-01 Technology and Modern Culture

Finding Journal Articles

Journal Indexes

Indexes tell you who published what -
and provide citations with the author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number.
Indexes do not always give you the full text of articles.

 

America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Coverage: Indexing 1964 - present

Historical Abstracts
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life).
Published since 1954. Over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.

 

Applied Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the literature of applied science, including Automotive Engineering; Communication & Information Technology; Electrical and Electronic Engineering; Energy Resources and Research; Nuclear Engineering; Physics; Transportation.
Coverage: Indexing 1983 - present

 

Humanities Abstracts
Covers English language periodicals in the subject areas of the humanities. Offers detailed abstracts describing the content and scope of source articles. Feature articles are indexed, as well as interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, television and radio.
Coverage: Indexing: 1984 - present; Abstracting: 1994 - present.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Provides current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,150 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals.
Cited reference searching.

Coverage: 1993 - Present

 

Social Sciences Citation Index
Covers 1,950 scholarly social sciences journals in more than 50 disciplines.
Cited reference searching.

Coverage: 1993 - Present

Social Sciences Abstracts with Full Text
Indexes and abstracts a range of interdisciplinary fields covered in social sciences journals.
Coverage: Indexing 1983 - present

Sociological Abstracts
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral science.
Coverage: 1952 - present

Full Text Databases

A Selection of Library Full Text Databases

Full text databases include citations and the full text of the article.

JSTOR - all scholarly sources!

Project MUSE - all scholarly sources!

Proquest Research Library- mix of scholarly and popular sources

Academic OneFile - mix of scholarly and popular sources
Contains peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources. Coverage includes the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.

OmniFile  - mix of scholarly and popular sourcesFull text articles from records in Readers' Guide Abstracts, Social Sciences Abstracts, Humanities Abstracts, General Science Abstracts, and Business Abstracts.
(Please note that each periodical can begin on a different month and year.)

General Reference Center Gold - mix of scholarly and popular sources

Do you have access to a journal?

 

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) Library OneSearch (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

 Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

Research Rescue!

Need Help?  Research Rescue is here!

Sign up for Research Help with a Librarian

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).