Skip to main content

THEA 290: Asian Theatre: Journals

Finding Journal Articles

Useful Theatre Journals:

  Name Indexed By Full Text
Asian Theatre Journal MLA

Full Text Access

Comparative Drama MLA, Humanities Abstracts

Full Text Access

  Theatre Journal MLA, Humanities Abstracts

Full Text Access

  Theatre Survey MLA, Humanities Abstracts Full Text Access
  Theatre Research International MLA, Humanities Abstracts

Full Text Access

  The Drama review (TDR) MLA, Humanities Abstracts

Full Text Access

Japanese Studies Periodicals in Library Catalog and in Full Text:

Call Number Online Access

Japan Quarterly

DS801 .J274

Full Text Access

The Journal of Japanese Studies

DS801 .J7

Full Text Access

Japan Echo

DS801 .J256

The East = Higashi

DS801 .E2

Full Text Access

Monumenta Nipponica

DS821.A1 M6

Full Text Access

Nihongo j anaru = The Nihongo Journal

PL501 .N55

Japanese language and literature 

Full Text Access

Japan Focus

Full Text Access

 Do you have access to a journal?  

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
2.) Library OneSearch (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog
4.) Interlibrary Loan

 

Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources 

 

Journal Indexes

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 3,000 English language and foreign periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore. Reviews of literary and scholarly works are not included. There are no abstracts.

Coverage: 1925 - Present.

Some Theatre Journals indexed in the MLA Bibliography:
Asian Theatre Journal
American Drama Studies in Modern Drama
Comparative Drama TDR: Drama Review
Drama and Theatre Text and Performance Quarterly
Drama Review Theater: TheoryTextPerformance
Drama Survey Theater
Drama and Theatre Theatre History Studies
JTD: Journal of Theatre and Drama Theatre Journal
Modern Drama Theatre Research International
Modern Dramatists Theatre Studies
Performing Arts Journal Theatre Survey
Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism Theatre Topics
Literature in Performance Theatre Annual

 

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references found in nearly 1,150 of the world's leading arts & humanities journals. Cited reference searching.
Coverage: 1993 - Present

Some Theatre Journals indexed in Arts and Humanities Citation Index :
Comparative Drama
Theatre Notebook
Modern Drama
Theater History Studies
PAJ - A Journal of Performance and Art
Theatre Journal
TDR -The Drama Review
Theatre Research International
Theater
Theatre Survey

 

Historical Abstracts
Historical Abstracts is a reference guide to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life). Published since 1954. Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered in the database.

Humanities Abstracts
Humanities Abstracts is a bibliographic database that covers English language periodicals in the diverse subject areas of the humanities. Humanities Abstracts offers detailed abstracts describing the content and scope of source articles. Feature articles are indexed, as are interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, television and radio.
Coverage: Indexing - 1984 - present; Abstracting - 1994 - present.

Some Theatre Journals indexed in Humanitites Abstracts:
American Theatre Theatre History Studies
Performing Arts Journal Theatre Journal
Comparative Drama Theatre Notebook
Drama Theatre Research International
Modern Drama Theatre Survey
The Drama Review  

 

Essay and General Literature Index
Cites essays contained in anthologies and collections published in the United States, Great Britain and Canada. Coverage spans the humanities and social sciences, including literary works, art history, drama, and film. Indexing: 1985 to present.

 

Which index includes the journal I'm looking for?

 

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Research Rescue!

Need Help?  Research Rescue is here!

Sign up for Research Help with a Librarian