Skip to main content

LANG 195: Comedy and Resistance: Articles

Finding Journal Articles

Popular Magazine Indexes - includes news magazines like Time and Newsweek

 Journal Indexes

MLA Bibliography
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 3,000+ English language and foreign periodicals as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.

Coverage: 1925 - Present.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information and cited references leading arts & humanities journals.
Coverage: 1993 - Present

Humanities Abstracts with Full Text
Covers English language periodicals in the humanities. Feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, and reviews of plays, operas, ballets, dance, musicals, movies, television and radio. Detailed abstracts.
Coverage: Indexing - 1984 - present; Abstracting - 1994 - present.

America: History and Life
America: History and Life is a bibliography of articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Coverage: Indexing 1964 - present

 

Do you have access to a journal?  

 

1.) Online Journals at K
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database

2.) Library OneSearch (print)
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal

3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog

4.) Interlibrary Loan

 Off-Campus Access to Licensed Resources

 

Which index includes the journal I'm looking for?

Scholarly or Not?

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines/Newspapers

Scholarly Journals

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Time, Newsweek, Rolling Stone)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Scholarly or Not?
Ulrich's Periodicals Directory Online
Look for section called "Document Type"
Document Type MUST say "Academic/Scholarly Publication" to be considered scholarly!