Skip to main content

Semn 499: Historical Readings on Ferguson: Finding Journal Articles

Articles: a step-by-step guide

Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide

1.) Look for citations and articles

  • Gather citations with Indexes and Databases
  • Find citations in books and articles with Bibliographies

2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation

  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database

3.)  WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog  (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)

4.) Interlibrary Loan

Scholarly or Popular?

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Authors may use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

    Scholarly or Not?
    Use Ulrich's Online
    Document Type MUST say "Academic/Scholarly Publication" to be considered scholarly!

Indexes and Databases

Indexes

Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.

America: History and Life - United States & Canada from prehistory to present

Historical Abstracts -- History of the world from 1450 to present (excludes the US & Canada)

World Political Science Abstracts

Index To Legal Periodicals & Books with Full Text

Westlaw Campus Research: Law  (you must enable popup windows)

PsycINFO - Psychology

PsycArticles - 90+ Psychology Journals in Full Text

Social Sciences Abstracts Full Text

Sociological Abstracts

 

To find out other subject specific indexes/databases, check the Indexes by Subject list

Full-text resources

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

Proquest Research Library
Can limit to scholarly academic journals

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.

New York Times (1995 to present)
Text version of the New York Times. Does not include sidebars or graphics.

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form