Skip to main content

English/SophSem 227: Opium & the Modern World: Resources at WMU

Waldo Library, Western Michigan University

  • You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library.  Username: GUEST Password: GUEST.      Printing is difficult for guests, so it is best to bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

Indexes and Databases

America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922
Full text images of articles from early American newspapers for over 700 newspapers from 34 Eastern states, including 21 Michigan newspapers like the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-1919), Grand Rapids Press (1893-1922), and Jackson Citizen Patriot (1849-1858).

American Periodicals Series
Contains over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children?s and women?s magazines, and more

British Periodicals Collection I
Search the full text of 160 British journals from the late seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Topics include literature, philosophy, history, science, the fine arts and the social sciences.  NOTE:  included in this is the journal "Household Words"

Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2010) w/ Index (1851-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1996)
The Washington Post (1877-1994)
less...
A full-text collection of 13 U.S. newspapers, including five African American newspapers along with the Detroit Free Press, New York Times, Washington Post, Atlanta Constitution, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and Christian Science Monitor, covering much of the 19th century to the late 20th century. The oldest newspaper is the Detroit Free Press, beginning in 1831. One can limit searches by type of document such as editorials, cartoons, classifieds, and obituaries.

Times Digital Archive
213 years of this major international newspaper from London. PDFs of each article and of the full page.
Coverage: 1785-2008

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form