Skip to main content

HIST 217: US Leisure and Recreation: Finding Journal Articles

Articles: a step-by-step guide

Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide

1.) Look for citations and articles

  • Gather citations with Indexes and Databases
  • Find citations in books and articles with Bibliographies

2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation

  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal

3.)  WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog  (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)

4.) Interlibrary Loan

Scholarly or Popular?

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Individual issues have little or no advertising.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.
  • Most illustrations are charts, figures, or graphs.
  • Authors use the specialized language or jargon of the discipline.

Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Individual issues contain many advertisements.
  • There is no peer review process. Articles are reviewed by editors or publishers.
  • Illustrations are numerous and colorful.
  • Articles are meant to inform and entertain an educated audience.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

    Scholarly or Not?
    Use Ulrich's Online
    Document Type MUST say "Academic/Scholarly Publication" to be considered scholarly!

Indexes and Databases

Indexes

Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.

America: History and Life 

Humanities Abstracts

Social Sciences Abstracts  (some full-text)

Sociological Abstracts

Social Sciences Citation Index

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983-present)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

Full-text resources

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

Proquest Research Library
Can limit to scholarly academic journals

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.

New York Times (1995 to present)
Text version of the New York Times. Does not include sidebars or graphics.

Kalamazoo Gazette Historical
Full-text coverage of the weekly and daily versions of the Kalamazoo Gazette, 1837-1922.
NOTE: The Library has The Kalamazoo Gazette on microfilm from 1978-present. Years inbetween may be accessed on microfilm at the Kalamazoo Public Library.

Godey's Lady's Book (1830-1845)
The magazine, begun in 1830, was intended to entertain, inform and educate the women of America.

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals The Library subscribes to Series 3 (1838-1852) and Series 5 (1866-1877)

Infotrac Newsstand
Access to more than 1,000 major U.S newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world. Coverage varies by title.

Older Popular Magazines in print in the K Library

The Atlantic, 1932 -
Atlantic Monthly, 1857-1932
Century (title changes - Century Magazine, Century Illustrated Monthly Magazine) 1882-1930
Christian Century, 1923 -
Current History 1919-
Harper’s Magazine, 1913 -
Harper’s Monthly Magazine, 1900-1913
Harper’s New Monthly Magazine, 1850-1900
Life, 1936 -
The Nation, 1905 -
The National Geographic magazine, 1889- present
Newsweek, 1947-
The New Yorker, 1936 -
Saturday Review, 1929 -
Scribner’s, 1887-1939
Time, 1930 -
US News & World Report, 1948-

Check for specific location and holdings in Ariadne.

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form