Skip to main content

HIST 217: US Leisure and Recreation: Image Databases

ARTstor

ARTstor is a nonprofit resource that allows you to search over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences. Once you find images that interest you, ARTstor provides tools that enable you to organize images into groups and share those groups with colleagues and students.

Accessing the ARTstor Digital Library

To start using the ARTstor Digital Library, click on the "Enter Here" button in the upper right corner of this screen. If you are accessing ARTstor from within your institution's network, you will be able to enter the Digital Library directly. If you are accessing ARTstor remotely, you will first need to access ARTstor from your institution's network in order to create an account. Once you have registered, you will be prompted to enter your ARTstor account information.


New users may find it helpful to review Artstor's Online Help pages.

Image Databases

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Advertising collections at Duke University:

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Catalog
The collections include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

American Memory from the Library of Congress
Provides access through to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Shorpy Historical Photo Archive
Shorpy.com is a vintage photography blog. Most of the photographs presented on the website date to the early twentieth century.


Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form