Skip to main content

THEA 265: First Theatre: Performance in Oral And Written Cultures Before 1700: Citing Sources

Citing in MLA Style

See How to Cite Sources for help in citing print and electronic resources in various bibliographic styles (MLA, APA, Chicago, etc.)

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
7th ed., New York : Modern Language Association of America, 2009.
Reference Stacks, Main Level, Call Number: LB2369 .G53 2009

ALWAYS check the style manual!! DO NOT rely on other guides!

Online help with MLA

The MLA guidelines for citing sources changed in April 2009. For an introduction, see Bibliographic Citations Using MLA Style

For an example of a correctly-formatted new MLA style research paper, see Purdue University's MLA Sample Paper.

 
Annotated Bibliography Guide #1  
Cornell University's webpage about how to write and format an annotated bibliography.
 
Annotated Bibliography Guide #2  
Lesley University's guide to MLA-style annotated bibliographies.
 
MLA Style Citations (for Bibliographies and In-Text Notes)
University of California Berkeley's detailed guide.

MLA Style Manual -- Frequently Asked Questions  
Modern Language Association's FAQs webpage about MLA style.
 
MLA style guide from UW  
University of Wisconsin at Madison's MLA style guide
 
 
Zotero A powerful bibliographical tool available as a Firefox add-on, free of charge.

Writing Center

Need More Help with Citations?

Visit the Writing Center!

Library, Main Level, Room 110

Winter Quarter 2016 Hours

Tuesday, Wednesday, & Thursday Afternoons, 3:30pm-5pm
Sunday through Thursday Evenings, 8pm-11pm

At the Writing Center site, view available appointment times, read consultant bios, & register for a consultation.
You can also just walk in during our open hours.

Making an Appointment

Make an appointment with a Writing Consultant at https://kzoo.mywconline.com/