Skip to main content

THEA 265: First Theatre: Performance in Oral And Written Cultures Before 1700: Reference Resources

Encyclopedias in the Reference Collection - Print

Useful Theatre Reference sources in the Library:

  • The Oxford Encyclopedia Of Theatre & Performance, Ref. PN2035 .O94 2010
  • The Oxford Companion To American Theatre, Ref. PN2220 .B6 2004
  • A Chronology Of American Musical Theater, Ref. ML1711.8.N3 N67 2002
  • The Continuum Companion To Twentieth Century Theatre, Ref. PN2035 .C65 2002
  • Critical Survey Of Drama, Ref. PN1625 .C68 2003
  • Cambridge Guide to Theatre, Ref. PN 2035 .C27 1995
  • Oxford Companion to the Theatre, Ref. PN 2035 .O9 1983
  • Encyclopedia of the Renaissance, Ref. CB 361 .E52 1999


    Circulating Collection

  • The Oxford Illustrated History of Theatre, PN 2111 .O84 1995
  • The Theatre in History, PN 2037 .K38 1989
  • The Crown Guide to the World's Great Plays, from ancient Greece to modern times, PN 6112.5 .S45 1984
  • The History of World Theater, PN 2104 .B413 1991
  • Theatre: History, Criticism, and Reference, Z 5781 .C48
  • Early English Drama, Everyman to 1580 : a reference guide, Z 2014.D7 W48 1986
  • Analytical Sourcebook of Concepts in Dramatic Theory, Z 5781 .B84
  • English Tragedy, 1370-1600: Fifty Years of Criticism, Z 2014.D7 C3
  • Theater and Society in the Classical World, PA 3024 .T47 1993

  Asian Theatre Reference

  • Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre, Reference, PN2860 .E53 2007
  • The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre, 6 vols., Reference, PN1861 .W67 1994, Volume 5: Asia/Pacific
  • Dictionary of Traditional South-East Asian Theatre, Reference, PN2860 .G48 1994
  • The Kabuki Handbook, Reference, PN2921 .H3
  • New Kabuki Encyclopedia, Reference, PN2924.5.K3 L44 1997

   Asian Theatre, Circulating Stacks:

  • Kabuki Costume, GT1745.J3 S5
  • The Cambridge guide to Asian Theatre, PN2860 .C35 1993