Skip to Main Content

SEMN 295: Principles and Practices of Civic Engagement

News Sources

Newspapers via Kalamazoo College Library  - in print and online
 
To access from off campus, see Off Campus Access

New York Times (1851- Four Years Ago)
ProQuest database provides fully searchable PDF documents of the New York Times, including ads, cartoons, photos, maps, graphics, and more.

New York Times
Full text of all New York Times articles, 1985 - present. Updated daily. From Newsstand.

Kalamazoo Gazette current local newspaper

Kalamazoo Gazette Historical
Full-text coverage of the weekly and daily versions of the Kalamazoo Gazette, 1837-1922.

NewsBank - Michigan Newspapers: Detroit Free Press, Grand Rapids Press

America's Newspaper Collection - from NewsBank
Includes major US Newspapers as well as regional newspapers. Over 1200 news titles going back ten to thirty years, depending on the title.

Newsstand
Includes the full-text of over 100 national and international newspapers, with varying dates of coverage per newspaper. This database covers the full text of the New York Times for the last 365 days. Michigan newspapers include the The Detroit Free Press.

PressDisplay - two months ago to present
Access to over 400 U.S. and international newspapers, from today through a 60-day backfile in full-color, full-page format. You may search by keyword across all titles and the entire backfile, and you can browse articles and other content, such as pictures, advertisements, classifieds, and notices.
This resource does not require additional software or plug-ins.

Westlaw Campus Research: News & Business (you must enable popup windows)

Includes multiple types of News sources:

  • Newspapers -  hundreds of newspapers, including current and archived papers like The New York Times and USA Today.
  • Newswires -  current news from over 400 newswires, including the Associated Press, U.S. Newswire, and several international wires.
  • Broadcast Transcripts -  more than 900 television and radio transcripts, including national and local news content from ABC, CBS, CNN, Fox, MSNBC, NBC, PBS, and BBC radio.
  • Magazines -  current and archive issues of Newsweek, the Economist, Consumer Reports, Spectator, Publishers Weekly, and Business Week, and more.

Popular Magazine Indexes - includes news magazines like Time and Newsweek