Skip to main content

Art History 205: Religious Art & Material Culture: Useful Websites

Websites


Digital Public Library of America 
The DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images. The collections focuses mainly on the United States, but does include international images as well.


Life Magazine via Google

Digitized issues back to 1935.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

French National Organisation of Art Museums
Free database of art Images from French Museums

Getty Search Gateway
Search several Getty repositories, including collections databases, library catalogs, collection inventories, and archival finding aids.
Internet Archive Book Images
Drawings and photos from books in the Internet Archive

National Portrait Gallery
Free database

Rijksmuseum
High resolution images from the Rijksmuseum in Amsterdam
University of Michigan Image Collections 
92 collections ranging from Art to Biology to History
Ad*Access
Free database of Advertising Images

Visual Collections: Images of Art, History, and Culture
Mix of free and licensed image collections compiled by David Rumsey

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form