Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide
1.) Look for citations and articles
2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation
- Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database
3.) WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)
Types of Periodicals
How do I know if it's Scholarly?
Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)
Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)
Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.
NOTE: Depending on your research topic, there are other subject specific indexes and databases that may be helpful. Consult Indexes and Databases by Subject for more possibilities.
Social Sciences Abstracts (some full-text)
Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. [NOTE: use this to find primary articles].
Readers' Guide Abstracts with Full Text (1983-present)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada. [NOTE: use this to find primary articles]
Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.
Scholarly academic journals
Proquest Research Library
Can limit to scholarly academic journals
Access World News contains over 2000 international news sources, including print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts. Coverage goes back five to thirty years, depending on the title.
New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper. [NOTE: use this to find primary articles]