Skip to main content

History 391: The Trial in American History: Resources at WMU, etc.

Waldo Library, Western Michigan University

  • You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library.  Username: GUEST Password: GUEST.      Printing is difficult for guests, so it is best to bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

Historical newspapers available at Waldo Library

WMU: Historical Newspapers
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945)
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-1997)
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2007) w/ Index (1851-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Wall Street Journal (1889-1993)
The Washington Post (1877-1994)

WMU:  America's Historical Newspapers, 1690-1922

Full text images of articles from early American newspapers for over 700 newspapers from 34 Eastern states, including 21 Michigan newspapers like the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-1919), Grand Rapids Press (1893-1922), and Jackson Citizen Patriot (1849-1858).
WMU: Michigan Historical Newspapers
Search or browse a growing collection of full text newspapers from Michigan covering the 19th and early 20th centuries, included the Kalamazoo Gazette (1837-1922), Grand Rapids Press (1893-1922), Muskegon Chronicle (1869-1922), and more.

Indexes & Databases at WMU

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Full text images of articles from 281 African American newspapers like the Augusta Chronicle (1792-1922), Bay City Times (1890-1922), and New York Commercial Advertiser (1797-1876).The African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 package is included as a module for the America's Historical Newspapers database and is cross-searchable with that product.
 
Alt-PressWatch
Showcases unique, independent voices from many respected and cited grassroots newspapers, magazines, and journals. The database features over 670,000 articles from around 200 publications, offering a wide range of critical coverage of the news.
Coverage :1970-Current

 
America's Historical Imprints
Search the Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800; Early American Imprints, Series I: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1670-1800; Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801-1819; and Early American Imprints, Series II: Supplement from the Library Company of Philadelphia, 1801-1819.

 
 
American Periodicals Series
Contains over 1,500 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children?s and women?s magazines, and more.
 
 
Nineteenth Century Masterfile
An index to over 8 million articles from popular and scholarly journals published between 1802 and 1906. Based on Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, the Masterfile adds periodicals, books, newspapers, U.S. and U.K. government documents, and U.S. patents not found in the old print index.
 
 
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Sabin Americana, 1500–1926 is a searchable full text digital archive of books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas. Content includes original accounts of discovery and exploration, pioneering and westward expansion, the U.S. Civil War and other military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition, religious history and more.
 
 
Salem History
Searchable database that includes the complete full text of the print reference sets including Milestone Documents in American History, Great Events and Lives from History, and the 20th century American decades books such as The Sixties in America.
 
 
Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience
This multimedia database contains essays and articles, a time line, videos, and images of the African experience throughout the Americas.

WMU Archives

The Western Michigan University Archives and Regional History Collections consists of historical University, regional, and local governmental records.

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form