Skip to main content

History 391: The Trial in American History: Primary Source Websites

Online Sources for Court Cases

  • Cornell Legal Information Institute LII collection of historic decisions of the US Supreme Court contains over 300 of the court's most important decisions through the whole period of its existence.
  • U.S. Reports Search here if you know the Supreme Court citation to a specific case.
  • Oyez Project Hosted by the Chicago-Kent College of Law. Includes audio files of all public sessions recorded in the Court since 1955. Currently, the audio collection covers all audio from the 1968 Term through the current 2010 Term. Before 1968, the audio collection is selective.

Websites


American Memory Project
Historical Collections for the National Digital Library From the Library of Congress. See especially Government, Law/

Avalon Project at Yale Law School Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Digital Public Library of America 
The DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Documenting the American South from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.
Seven collections of primary sources for the study of Southern history, literature, and culture.

Hathi Trust
A large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from resarch libraries including content digitized via the Google Books Project.

Internet Archive
A digital library of books, movies, music.  It offers permanent storage and access to collections of digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly 3 million public domain books. Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

            Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive

Library of Congress Digital Collections
      The Nineteenth Century in Print
      This collection presents twenty-three popular 19th century periodicals, full-text searchable
 

US National Archives and Records Adminstration
Links to Primary Documents in the US National Archives

 

 

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us

reference@kzoo.edu

Reference desk: 337-7152

Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here

Use our Ask a Librarian form