Skip to main content

SEMN 256: Music and Identity: Reference Resources

Encyclopedias in the Reference Collection - Print

Useful Reference sources in the Library - Punk:

  • A cultural dictionary of punk: 1974-1982, Ref. ML3918.R63 R66 2009
  • The encyclopedia of punk, Ref. ML102.R6 C64 2008
  • The rough guide to punk, Ref. ML3534 .S65 2006

Useful Reference sources in the Library - Rock & Roll:

  • The Rolling Stone encyclopedia of rock & roll, Ref. ML102 .R6 R64 2001

Useful Reference sources in the Library - General Music:

  • American musical traditions, 5 v. , Ref. ML3551 .A53 2002
  • Baker's biographical dictionary of musicians, Ref. ML105 .B16 2001
  • Music research: a handbook, Ref. ML113 .S28 2009
  • Chronology of American popular music, 1900-2000, Ref. ML 3477 .H64 2008

Useful Reference sources in the Library - Blues & Jazz:

  • Encyclopedia of the blues, Ref. ML102 .B6 E53 2006
  • The Penguin guide to blues recordings, Ref. ML3521 .R88 2006
  • The Greenwood guide to American popular culture, Ref.E169.1 .G7555 2002
  • Classic jazz , Ref. ML3508 .Y38 2001

Useful Reference sources in the Library - miscellaneous

  • American Decades, 10v. Ref. E169.12 .A419 1994
  • Contemporary Youth Culture, 2v , Ref. HQ 796 .C8154 2006
  • The African American national biography 8v., Ref. E185.96 .A4466 2008
  • Encyclopedia of American race riots, 2v , Ref. E184 .A1 E573 2007
  • Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history, 6v, Ref. E185 .E54 2006
  • Encyclopedia of the jazz age: from the end of World War I to the great crash,Ref. E 784 .E53 2008
  • Black women in America, 3v, Ref. E185.86 B542 2005
  • Current biography, 1940- , Ref. CT 100 .C8

Useful Sources in the Circulating Collection

  • All music guide to the blues: the definitive guide to the blues , ML156.4 B6 A45 2003
  • The encyclopedia of pop, rock, & soul, ML102 .P66 S8 1989
  • The literature of rock, 1954-1978, ML128 .R6 H6

Research Rescue!

Need Help?  Research Rescue is here!

Sign up for Research Help with a Librarian