Skip to main content

SEMN 256: Music and Identity: Primary Sources

Primary Sources in Research

Primary Sources Guide
Created by your Librarians at K College Library!

News and Popular Magazine Databases

To access from off campus, see Off Campus Access

Websites for finding Primary Sources

Digital Public Library of America
Records for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Internet Archive 
Access to collections of public domain digitized materials, including websites, music, moving images, and nearly three million public-domain books.

Internet Archive - Audio Archive
Over 200,000 free digital recordings (audio and MP3 files), from alternative news programming to Grateful Dead concerts, Old Time Radio shows, book and poetry readings.

Library of Congress. American Memory
Written and spoken word recordings, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

Library of Congress. Joe Smith Collection 
Joe Smith, former president of Capitol Records, recorded interviews with hundreds of musicians, and many are available online.
Access the interviews.

Life Magazine Photo Archives

Life Magazine via Google
Digitized issues back to 1935.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources in the New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

 

Popular Magazines in owned by the K Library

Links go to the magazine's record in Ariadne

What is a Primary Source?

What is a Primary Source?

A primary source records or documents events as seen or experienced directly by witnesses or persons involved in those events.

For more detailed explanations with examples: