Skip to main content

History 236: The End of Christendom: Finding Journal Articles

course guide for History 236/Soph. Semn. 236

Articles: a step-by-step guide

Articles: A Step-by-Step Guide

1.) Look for citations and articles

  • Gather citations with Indexes and Databases
  • Find citations in books and articles with Bibliographies

2.) Locate the journal when you have a citation

  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate print journal
  • Title search on Title of the Journal to locate article in a Full Text Database

3.)  WestCat - Western Michigan's catalog  (finds the journal at WMU -- you must go there to retrieve it, whether it's print or online)

  • Title search on Title of the Journal
  • Waldo Library - Hours and How to Get to Western
  • Accessing WMU online materials: You may access Western's online resources when you are in Waldo Library.  Username: GUEST Password: GUEST.      Printing is difficult for guests, so it is best to bring a flashdrive and download articles you want to keep.

4.) Interlibrary Loan

Scholarly or Popular?

Types of Periodicals

Scholarly Journals (American Journal of Chinese Studies)

  • Authors are scholars or researchers in their fields.
  • Authors cite their sources in footnotes, endnotes, and bibliographies.
  • Articles must go through a peer-review process.
  • Articles usually report original scholarly research.

Popular Magazines (Newsweek or Time)

  • Authors are free lance writers or magazine staff members.
  • Authors may mention sources, but rarely cite them in notes or bibliographies.
  • Language is written for the general adult audience (no specialized jargon).

Indexes and Databases

Indexes

Indexes lead you to article citations that include author, article title, journal title, volume number, publication date, and page number. Citations do not include the entire article. You must locate the journal once you have a citation.

Historical Abstracts 

ATLA Religion Database

Full-text resources

Full text databases include citation information as well as the text of the article itself.

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals

Project MUSE
Scholarly academic journals

Proquest Research Library
Can limit to scholarly academic journals

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us
reference@kzoo.edu
Reference desk: 337-7152
Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here