Skip to main content

JAPN 242: Contested History: Primary Sources in Library

What is a Primary Source?

"Primary sources are the raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study. They are different from secondary sources, accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience." (Library of Congress)

For more detailed explanations with examples:

Useful Indexes for Locating Primary Sources

JSTOR
Scholarly academic journals, many dating back to the early 20th century.

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

Readers' Guide Abstracts with Full Text (1983-present)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.

New York Times (1995 to present)
Text version of the New York Times. Does not include sidebars or graphics.

Older Popular Magazines in print in the K Library

The Atlantic, 1932 - 1971
Business Week, 1939-2009
Christian Century, 1923 -
Current History 1919-
Harper’s Magazine, 1913 -
Life, 1936 -
The Nation, 1905 -
The National Geographic magazine, 1889- present
Newsweek, 1947-
The New Yorker, 1936 -
Saturday Review, 1929 -
Time, 1930 -
US News & World Report, 1948-

Check for specific location and holdings in OneSearch

Subject Guide