Skip to main content

History 103: Intro to East Asian Studies: Finding Journal Articles - Primary Sources

What is a Primary Source?

"Primary sources are the raw materials of history — original documents and objects which were created at the time under study. They are different from secondary sources, accounts or interpretations of events created by someone without firsthand experience." (Library of Congress)

For more detailed explanations with examples:

Indexes & Databases

Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

Readers' Guide Abstracts (1983-present)
Readers' Guide Abstracts indexes and abstracts general interest and popular periodicals published in the U.S. and Canada.

Full Text Resources

New York Times (1851 to 3 years ago)
PDF version of the historical New York Times. Looks exactly like a copy of the paper.

New York Times (1995 to present)
Text version of the New York Times. Does not include sidebars or graphics.

Kalamazoo Gazette Historical
Full-text coverage of the weekly and daily versions of the Kalamazoo Gazette, 1837-1922.

NOTE: The Library has The Kalamazoo Gazette on microfilm from 1978-present. Years inbetween may be accessed on microfilm at the Kalamazoo Public Library.

Harper's Weekly (1857-1912)

Harper's magazine (1913 to 1995)

Harper's (1994-2006)

Harper's
from 1976 to Present in Ariadne Print Journals  Periodicals Second Floor  AP2 .H3

National Geographic Magazine Archive 1888-1994

 

Older Popular Magazines in print K's Library

The Atlantic, 1932 -
Atlantic Monthly, 1857-1932
Century (title changes - Century Magazine, Century Illustrated Monthly Magazine) 1882-1930
Christian Century, 1923 -
Current History 1919-
Harper’s Magazine, 1913 -
Harper’s Monthly Magazine, 1900-1913
Harper’s New Monthly Magazine, 1850-1900
Life, 1936 -
The Nation, 1905 -
The National Geographic magazine, 1889- present
Newsweek, 1947-
The New Yorker, 1936 -
Saturday Review, 1929 -
Scribner’s, 1887-1939
Time, 1930 -
US News & World Report, 1948-

Check for specific location and holdings in Ariadne.

 

Subject Guide