Skip to main content

History 103: Intro to East Asian Studies: Useful Primary Source Websites

Websites


Highly Recommended

 Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers from the Library of Congress
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.

Digital Public Library of America 
The DPLA contains metadata records—information describing an item—for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums around the United States. Each record links to the original object on the content provider’s website.

Internet Archive
Created to offer permanent access for researchers and the general public to historical collections that exist in digital format.

Internet Archive : Moving Image Archive
Includes television news broadcasts and historical film clips.

Library of Congress: Prints and Photographs Online Catalog
Includes more than 1.2 million digitized images. The collections focuses mainly on the United States, but does include international images as well.

Life Magazine via Google Digitized issues back to 1935.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

 

Recommended

East & Southeast Asia: An Annotated Directoroy of Internet Resources

Hosted by the University of Redlands, this directory includes internet resources available on East Asia, Southeast Asia, and Asian Americans.

East Asia History Sourcebook
Housed at Fordham University, the Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented for educational use.

Google News Archive
Search historical news archives back to about 1880. Google automatically creates a time-line with results from each decade. Contents are both free and fee-based, but check our library resources before paying for articles.

History Channel : Speeches
Contains hundreds of speeches that can be searched by speaker, subject or time period.

Life Magazine Photo Archives

National Library of New Zealand. Papers Past
Papers Past contains digitized pages from New Zealand newspapers and periodicals published between 1839 and 1945. It covers 68 titles from throughout New Zealand.

NYPL Digital Gallery
Access to over 275,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities in the collections of The New York Public Library, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, printed ephemera, and more.

World History Sources
Links to primary sources orgainzed by region and time period. Prepared by The Center for History and New Media (CHNM) at George Mason University.


 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Ask a Librarian

We offer help in person, by email and by phone.

Contact Us
reference@kzoo.edu
Reference desk: 337-7152
Circulation desk: 337-7153

Sign up for a Research appointment here